An Optimistic Stanza


I am a better poet the less I indulge in chicken soup for the soul

Or maybe the indulgence is that I imagine myself so darkly

I am my own creation
A stanza
Read a loud

Are similes and metaphors enough?

Do adjectives adequately explain?

That these days are sweeter than honey
More comforting than the sunrise

I am no longer scared of who I am
I am increasingly curious about who I will become

Every evening in the dusk I breathe deeply and sigh
It’s like I have forgotten how to lose my smile

In answers
Geographical and otherwise

If I have not been clever I have been lucky

The words are so pale compared to the Technicolor reality

I would paint the sky with those colors if I had that talent
If I had that energy

I am at a loss
How to create without friction

This is my first time
Hopeful and terribly happy

Leave a comment