Hallelujah 


I am exhausted with sinners and saints

Acting like there is no grey

So I say my agnostic hallelujah 

I won’t be the martyr on the stage

But I will fight for what I believe

Till my hands bleed

The stigmata of someone who

Won’t stand down

Who won’t just pretend

That travesty is fine

I will not stand idly by

And let hate normalize

I will not listen to second hand saints

Whose willful ignorance 

Deserves penance to be paid

I will not listen to the double talk

Rhetoric 

From mouths filled with insidious poison

I will not kneel

I will not kiss the ring

Resist

Always resist

Rebel with acceptance 

Protest with peace

Fight 

Show them nothing can stop love

That’s my hallelujah 

One comment on “Hallelujah 

  1. Gwen Burson says:

    Kira, I can’t quite find the words to adequately praise this. It’s so full of breathtaking comment on what I see as the current situation in my country. I realize not everyone will see it that way but that is how I see it. This is a work I’d love to be able to sit in a room with other people and learn how each feels interprets it and especially how it applies to the individual. You continue to astound!

    Like

Leave a Reply

