Liberation


There have been effects in my life

That I have clung to

With bleeding hands

And a begging mouth

I refused to let them slip away

People that I held too tightly

Until they could no longer

Take a breath

Items of no value

Except nostalgia

Ideas that I could not be convinced

Were untrue

Pain that embraced me

As I lay willing in it’s arms
Until a second

A strike of light

A shadow overwhelming

Overcame me
Essential and cutting

I was free

I was liberated
Everything I held on to

Faded away

My hands healed

And I let go

Redeemed

Leave a Reply

