Defeating the Void


The spinning cosmos

Vast, perplexing and beyond out grasping

Fingertips

We are less than the flash of a shooting star

We are a modicum of a molecule

We are ashes and cinders

As we ignite

You and I were shining lights in the void

Passion personified

Until our deviation led to vitriol

Fervor that lead to war

Nothing I could do was ever enough

And you lived life like you would never die

Debauchery and fist fights

Never seeing that similarity

Or perhaps loathing that you saw yourself in me

But wait

The cosmos spin

You faded like the flash

of a shooting star

And I whisper that I know

You tried

I shout to the heavens

That I forgive you

In case

Just in case you might be listening

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

