Pennsylvania 


Winter months erased 

From the calender

But Winter’s icy hand holds on

The smell of snow in the air

Threatening

That beautiful silence

Broken by the sound of a train

In the distance

Summer comes and all is green

Hills

Encased in emeralds

My home

When the word was not

In my vocabulary 

The world where I defined love

And lost myself

The place where I found the pieces

Step by step

The autumn leaves that fall

On the backroads

The covered bridge

That frightened and delighted me

The rock quarry

Where I made a pact

And an everlasting bond

As I made my way through

The journey that brought me

To the gates

Of paradise?

Of damnation?

Of that vanishing grace

That holds on

In the echoing

Passages of my reminiscince

Leave a Reply

