For The Friends Who Say No


I have friends who comfort
I have loved ones who say
Keep going
You are worth something
I have friends who convince
Who plead
Who say yes

But tonight…
I am thankful for a rare breed

So here’s to the friends who say
No.
You are not going to destroy
Yourself today
If the world needs to burn
I will help you strike the match
But I won’t watch you fall
To petty concerns
Old wounds
Or pointless quests
Revenge
Grudges
Or your own screwed up lust
For pain

And when I ask
“What will you do then?
When the desire becomes so strong
That I long for blood?”

I will distract you
With cookies
And mayhem

Sounds like a motherfucking plan
My friends

Leave a Reply

