Running with the Wolves


I dreamt of you last night

I never knew you when you were young
You didn’t live to grow old

So many nights my dreams were of your sickness
A fool’s stress filled black picture zoetrope
Me trying to save you
Me absorbing your pain

But last night
The projecter that shows me stories when I sleep
Showed me the man I knew

You were beautiful and strong
My brother was there
In the throes of youth
And I was comfortably
In the background
Safe

We were running
What from?
Where to?
I had no idea

It was the dead of night but
It tasted like honey
And sunrise

Because I was running with the wolves again…
And I was one of them

One comment on “Running with the Wolves

  1. wymry says:

    Such a nice poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

