Forever Dangerous


As she tosses her hair away from her face
You see the flash of a smile
A mischievous smirk
That questions you
You see fire in those eyes
It beckons
Come play with me
Forever dangerous
Knowing that to touch her
Is to fall
Tumbling
Down the rabbit hole
What will it be today?
Pleasure or pain
The thrill
Is in the unknown
Burning cold rage
That flickers
Before ceasing to exist
Desperate drowning sadness
Crooked hands that drag you down
Only to become the very hands
That lift you up
Constant doubt
Like a daisy’s petals
She loves me
She loves me not
Only to discover that despite
Her fickle tendencies
Her loyalty
Is a force stronger than gravity
Her love is conditionally unconditional
And she is not afraid of it
The moment you feel like giving up
The contagion of her enthusiasm
Will overcome you
And just when you think
That isolation is her best friend
Her charisma emerges
Suddenly she is loved by many
But she sees
Nearly none
A constant game to be played
Where the stakes are high
But she couldn’t care less
About the outcome
The beauty of destruction
The agony of creation
They bend and twist and flow
Like molten metal inside of her
The constant fear that her light
Has burned out
The constant relief to see that it shines
Impossible
Intriguing
Forever dangerous

5 comments on “Forever Dangerous

  1. Forever amazing! Wow! This is good!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gwen Burson says:

    Kira, you continue to amaze me. This poem grabs my attention and I am entranced at it while I read, waiting to see what will come next and how it will end. It is a visual feast for the senses where I draw my own pictures It is marvelous, fantastic, touching, and a little bit frightening. I love your work.

    Gwen

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wymry says:

    I really like this poem. I love the contradictions. It gives such a great description of the person. And it has such lovely lines. A few of my favorites –
    “Constant doubts / Like a daisy’s petals” and “She loves conditionally unconditional”
    I would be honored to know the girl this poem is about and be able to call her friend. She would be an awesome one. I know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

