The Lion Who Layed Down With The Lamb


I used to hate the darkness

I feared the coming of the night

When shadows played tricks

And I stumbled in the moonlight

Tripping over the fears

That I knew hid in every corner

Hiding from every object that I knew

Was sinister

But now I sit on my porch

The cicadas and lightning bugs

Have gone to sleep

And it is just me

And the cricket choir

The sky is indigo ink

Not a star to be seen

The moon is new

And these eyes cannot find it

There is sweetness

In the lonely call of a single frog

I am awake

Free from the nightmares

That plague my sleep

And there is peace

The summer heat slumbers

But this sticky warmth comforts me

3:34 has never seemed so sweet

Leave a Reply

