Lessons


My parents did not give me many gifts

They did not instill in me morals

They taught me nothing

Except

To be selfish

To be a victim

But I am

And always have been

A rebel

So the way that they showed me

Was thrown away

They made me an outcast

Not just in my family

But everywhere

And it was the greatest lesson

I ever learned

The realization that

There was nothing wrong with me

But there are terrible things

Wrong with society

Was like a breath exhaled

That had been held for so long

Different

Freak

Loser

These are things I wore on my sleeve

With pride

Being the girl from

The wrong side of the tracks

The one who had rumors about her

Spread like wildfire

Made me laugh

I was the sober drug addict

I was the virgin that slept around

Very few knew the poet

Very few knew the compassionate heart

That I hid so well

Who would want to blend in?

Who would want to be told what they should be?

I don’t think outside the box

I live outside of it

Freedom is my greatest power

And it will be pried from my cold dead hands

So here is a line I will likely never say again

Thanks Mom and Dad

Your rapacious behavior

Taught me who not to be

And now I know who I am

5 comments on “Lessons

  1. Anonymous says:

    A real person like me. I wish I was a writer and I applaud you for your braveness. ( is that even a word?). Totally not a writer but an admirer of your talent

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gwen Burson says:

    An instructor I had in college told me that we learn from everyone in our life. From some, we learn things we want to emulate. From others, we learn what we never want to do or be. This poem says that well, even while it shows the pain behind your lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

