She


I have seen her falter where I thought she would succeed

I have seen her become stubborn

With a will like stone

When I had hoped

That she would bend

She is so mercurial

So unpredictable

Like the wind

Like the water

She is a summer storm

Only more uncontrollable

I say this even when

I call myself mercurial

She is a contradiction

Dark but sheltered

Brave but fearful

Rebellious but polite

I say this when

I call myself a contradiction

She wins

Which would suit her

Because she is sometimes

Needlessly competitive

She is a lovely mess

So am I

I wonder if

She will read this

And become angry or upset

Not realizing that

Although I see her flaws she is loved

Because we cannot hope

To hide our imperfections from the world

Whether someone sees one or many

They are seen

All that we can hope

Is that we will meet people

Who will see our defects

And still think we are

Worthy of their loyalty and love

3 comments on “She

  1. linda davis says:

    Just read SHE. I like that one. Probably healing for you to be so “up front” with your feelings

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wymry says:

    I love this poem. It always makes me feel
    good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

