Focus and the Daydreamer


For a daydreamer what is focus?

If not a chance to let their mind wander

A chance to send their subconscious

On another adventure

It is hard to contain your brain

In this world

When you have already been

To so many others

To create

And manipulate

Your own world

Becomes like an addiction

Where you wish to return

Even at times when

Your consciousness is needed here

We need those with hyper focus

I admit

I would not enjoy

Having an absentminded surgeon

But as words filter through my brain

And I grab a scalpel to trim

Those that offend

I think that sometimes

I am like

A surgeon

I can focus on a detail so small

That most would miss it

I can choose words

With absolute precision

I can create cause and effect

With metaphor and rhyme

So perhaps it is not that

Those that live in the abstract

Lack focus

Perhaps it is that we can focus

Only on those intangible things

With the unfortunate label of  “not real”

3 comments on “Focus and the Daydreamer

  1. JamilaJJ says:

    Oh. Wow. I can relate to this SO MUCH. I don’t know whether it was written from your (the blogger’s) point of view, or from a fictional character’s… but I can seriously identify with it. I was thinking recently about how much I love to dream. Both literal night dreams and daydreaming… I feel like I’m always traveling, to fictional place made up in my mind… and to unknown, faraway dreamscapes. And my attention span is lacking. You’re right, daydreaming is a kind of addiction… I feel like these days it’s getting harder and harder for me to concentrate! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wymry says:

    Another favorite

    Like

Leave a Reply

