A poem entitled Betrayal of Who?


Betrayal of Whom?

I am drowning in your gentle treachery

Even your generosity

Is a Machiavellian means to an end

I sip the poison that you have made so sweet

Until my body and mind become so weak

That I am convinced I am incomplete

No longer equals our eyes never meet

You are a cataclysm in slow motion

A train wreck from which I choose to avert my eyes

Insidious yet obvious

I find that it is all

A clever disguise

That hides

The actions that lead

To a self-induced, inevitable demise

I am the fool who thought I was different

Just another sycophant

Who believed the movement of your lips

And you, with skills that surpass

Even the most brilliant sociopath

You show your predator’s teeth

In that smile of wrath

But now you are the fool

For thinking I would never pull back the curtain

To reveal the egomaniacal wizard behind

But it’s always been such an effective ploy

To deeply underestimate me

To make me doubt myself perpetually

To make me feel that I define failure

Simply by not being what you want me to be

I am no longer willing

To devour the toxin you call devotion

No longer willing

To be dosed with the drug you call love

No more proximity happiness

Because mine is no longer defined

By what you consider success

And your constant judgment

Has been rendered meaningless

I have been down this path before

So I know I can predict

That you will get what you want

You will always achieve

You will always be right

But forever, peace will elude you

The short-lived happiness you find will never be true

And you will spend eternity trapped

Alone with your own twisted point of view

Leave a Reply

