A poem entitled Saline


Saline

 

My fingertips turn cold and numb

As strange visions flow like blood

A breath of madness fills my lungs

As time grows thick like mud

 

Disconnected laughter crosses my lips

I swallow my fear in gentle sips

I place my fragile hands on frail hips

From grasping minds reality slips

 

I watch myself as I falter

Retrace my steps and deny the altar

On my choking throat they place a halter

To leave me there slightly grim and slightly altered

 

I change my pace from light to dark

But in my eyes remains the spark

Of twisted words spoken in a graceful arch

Bred by mind but held close to my heart

 

The self-centered pity I was taught to exalt

My speeding thoughts come to a crashing halt

And I have found that tears taste like salt

One comment on “A poem entitled Saline

  1. wymry says:

    Another poem I really like. The opening stanza is my favorite.

    Like

Leave a Reply

